Anime in 2014

I am hesitant to write this, because I don’t like being negative.  Unfortunately, 2014 was not a good year for me as a fan of anime.  Let’s look back at the key points.

Simulcasts:

The Winter 2014 anime season put and end to my watching simulcasts.  A couple of real train wrecks, Magical Warfare and Pilot’s Love Song, convinced me that I was spending way to much time watching bad anime.  The other reason I stopped keeping up with shows on a weekly basis was the people who only watched the shows to complain about them.  The Crunchyroll forums became full of people watching shows they didn’t like so they could smugly insult the people who enjoyed them.  Since my biggest reason for watching a show when it is simulcast was being able to to talk about it with other fans, the toxic environment on the forums really killed the fun in simulcasts.

Bad adaptations:

It was the worst of times, it was the best of times, it was the age of good manga being made into bad anime.  It’s hard for me to say if this is a new trend, but because my manga readership spiked in 2013, this year I was already familiar with a number of titles that came out.  Throwing in sequels with which I already knew  the settings and characters and I end up with a high number of disappointing shows in a year where my anime consumption went down considerably.  Witchcraft Works and Silver Spoon were done extremely well, but Trinity Seven, Kawai Complex, and Akame ga Kill were all mediocre at best.  Second seasons of SAO and Chunibyo were also disappointing.

Hope for 2015:

Nothing that came out in 2014 even came close to being the best thing I watched last year.  I have high hopes for 2015 though. New seasons of Durarara!, My Teen Romantic Comedy Snafu, Working, and Nisekoi are on the way.  Adaptations of Assasination Classroom, Shokugeki No Souma, and Yamada and the Seven Witches are also reportedly in the works.  Why do I think that these will be better?  Better source material for one, and well, I’m an anime optimist at heart.  2015 might just be the year that pulls me back into simulcasts.   This time though, I will be more likely to jump ship when I sense things are going the wrong way.  Who knows?  Perhaps I might even show up on the forums again.  We will have to see.

Simulcasts I enjoyed a lot in 2014, in no particular order:

Engaged to the Unidentified

Witchcraft Works

Seitokai Yakuindomo

Monthly Girl’s Nozaki-kun

Best shows I watched in 2014, in no particular order:

Pet Girl of Sakurasou

Steins Gate

Black Lagoon

Leave a Reply

