Winter 2015 Aniticipation

As I said in my last post, 2015 looks like a good year for anime, and the party starts this week.  The shows I’m looking forward to, and a couple I am afraid of.

Looking forward to:

Assassination Classroom.

Don’t let the name fool you.  Behind the show’s dark premise is a benevolent alien handing out life lessons like candy on Halloween.

Durarara! Season 2.

Season 1 was able to keep my interested even when I didn’t know what I was interested in.  When the pieces finally started falling into place I felt like I had been standing too close to a mosaic.  As I took some steps back in later episodes, the full impact of the show hit me.  I hope we get more of the same.

Isuca.

Standard supernatural harem fare, but the heroine’s insecurities give this an oppurtunity to really shine.

 

Shows that I am afraid of:

The Testament of New Sister Devil.

The manga is something of a guilty pleasure, but, as Trinity Seven showed this last season, the over the top fanservice elements that work in print can come off as a creepy distraction on the screen.  There is plenty of potential upside here, but smart money is that this becomes the most reviled show this season.

 

Kantai Collection.

Putting aside the less than stellar premise and my gut feeling that this is show made solely to sell merchandise, my worst fear is that this show will be some kind of bizarre harem hybrid.  I will probably watch an episode or two just to witness the train wreck I expect this to be.

 

One thought on “Winter 2015 Aniticipation

  1. Joojoobees January 14, 2015 / 1:34 am

    I hope DRRR2 succeeds. The first season started off brilliant, but I generally found the second and third arcs weaker. The characters were brilliant, and they started off with some fascinating ideas. I Really want to see more of that.

Leave a Reply

