Just How Stacked is Spring 2015?

As I said yesterday, the currently airing shows are a bit disappointing.  So instead of focusing on the bad, I’m looking towards the future.  The spring anime season looks as good as any I can remember.  I know it’s a bit early, but here are the shows I’m anticipating and how hyped I am to see them:

Definitely Watching:

Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru 2 –Hype level (out of 10): 10

Hachiman Hikigaya, the most interesting harem protagonist ever, is back.  This story is so carefully crafted, that even some wariness as the show changes studios can’t bring my anticipation down.  The only question is, will this take us to the end of the story?

High School DxD 3 –Hype level: 10

Listen up kiddies, this is how you do it.  Take notice how DxD takes a mildly engaging story and uses the ecchi elements to enhance it instead of displacing it.  There’s more to being sexy than pantsu shots, DxD shows how it is done.

Shokugeki no Souma (Food Wars) –Hype level: 9

This is classic shonen stuff, but I can’t wait to see Souma cook his way to the top, winning hearts and stomachs along the way.  I expect JC Staff will well with this.

Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo –Hype level: 9

This is another title that I’ve been waiting forever to see animated.  The first manga arc is so perfect for an anime that I will be shocked (and angry) if someone screws this up.

Nisekoi 2 –Hype level: 8

The first season of Nisekoi ends right about where the manga started to wander off course.  There are still some great arcs in there.  Chitoge’s mom’s arc in particular is something I’m dying to see.  The manga seems to have found its way again, so I look forward to seeing how far this season takes us.

Denpa Kyoushi – Hype level : 7

If you like lots of otaku references and inside jokes in your anime, then you will certainly enjoy this one.  There will also be tons of cute girls and some morality/life lessons, which are both always a nice bonus.

Fate/Stay: Unlimited Blade Works 2nd Season –Hype level: 7

The first season was good and had some great characters.  Rin Tohsaka might even make it on to my best girls list, but the first season left us in an awkward place.  I’m hoping fo a grand finish.

Dungeon ni Deai o Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka? (Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?) –Hype level: 6

This will probably be awful, but there are little details here and there that make me think it might be a bit better than the standard harem fare.  Hopefully it will be better than this season’s awful supernatural harem shows.

Kyoukai no Rinne –Hype level: 5

One name associated with this anime is all any old school anime fan needs to hear to be interested – Rumiko Takahashi.

Interested:

Hibike! Euphonium –Hype level: 4

Something about this one has piqued my interest. It has a decent pedigree, and Kyoani is due for a good show. They still owe me for watching Beyond the Boundary all the way through.

Triage X – Hype level: 4

All I want out of this is some good action and occasional fan service. Well, maybe a lot of fan service. Please though, for the love of god, don’t overdo it. If I could feel confident that this won’t end up being more about boobs than action, it would be higher on my list.

Arslan Senki – Hype level: 4

Amazingly, this 30 year old franchise has never had a TV series.   If something has been around that long, it is worth checking out

Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai – Hype level: 4

If this is as irreverent and raunchy as it sounds it could be ridiculously funny or ridiculously stupid.

Baby Steps 2 – Hype level: 4

I don’t normally do sports show, but this one has gotten pretty good reviews.  With a new season coming this is the perfect time to check it out.

Hype level: 3

This has a moe Dirty Dozen or Mighty Ducks feel to it, and that sounds like kind of a cool concept.  Not high on my list, but still worth checking out

Re-Kan! – Hype level: 2

Four koma mangas have ended up being some of my favorite comedies.  This has a good script writer and an interesting premise.  I’ll give it a shot.

 

This is all going to make for a wild season.  I have never attempted to follow this many shows at once.  Add into this that Assassination Classroom will be ongoing and I’ve got a feeling I am going to be seriously sleep deprived from April through June.

 

Leave a Reply

