First Impressions of Spring 2015 – Part 1

I’ve been looking forward to the spring season for a while now, and with a week down and about half of the shows that I wanted to check out watched, I have to say things are looking pretty good.  I will probably be doubling my anime intake this season, but even with that some series will have to wait to be binge watched later.

Plastic Memories: Familiarity with the story – none

Wow, that was really good! Isla has already charged away from the pack as best girl/robot of the season. I knew that this was written by the guy who wrote Steins; Gate, so I also knew that it wasn’t going to shy away from emotional drama, but holy crap, what a gut punch! I watched this on the bus trying to hold back tears while the burly man next to me used my side as an armrest. This is one of the best first episodes I can remember. If the show can maintain this level, we may have a bittersweet masterpiece on our hands.

 

My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU Too: Familiarity with the story – current with the LN

Yukina and Hachiman’s slow burn romance continues without missing a step. Not a huge fan of the new character designs, but I can deal with it as long as they keep the quality high (there were a couple of dodgy moments in the first episode). If you have not seen the first season, you need to check it out.   This is as good as RomComs get.

 

Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma: Familiarity with the story – current with the manga

My fear for any manga with a nominal amount of fan service is that the studio will latch onto that and try to make it the central theme of the show. This appears to be the case with Food Wars.  JC Staff has a hit or miss reputation and in this case, it feels like a miss. There was a lot of unnecessary boob movement in that episode. So much that I felt uncomfortable watching it with my daughter. I hope that they tone it down and focus more on the Iron Chef High School aspect of the show. If not, then I may drop it. Considering how much I like the manga, that would be a shame.

 

Is it Wrong to Pick Up girls in a Dungeon?: Familiarity with the story – some manga chapters

This was better than I expected, but I wasn’t really expecting much. It is the stereotypical haremshit after all. Judging by what I’ve read of the manga adaptation it should be entertaining at least. As long as they don’t get stupid with the fan service, this should stay watchable

 

Fate/Stay: UBW: Familiarity with the story – watched first season/half, read spoilers

It is impossible to give an authentic first impression to a show that is really just picking up where another season left off. Like SNAFU Too and, probably Nisekoi as well, Fate/Stay just picks up where it left off. The show continues to good cop/bad cop us like it did at the end of last season, coupling action and failure with a budding relationship. I like Fate/Stay, but I can not get past the feeling that the show is trying a little too hard with it’s action and drama. I find it strange for an action/adventure to be riding on the coattails of it’s romance, but that is what is happening here. Rin and Shiro’s natural chemistry is the best thing about the show.

 

On my list:

Yamada and the Seven Witches: Familiarity with the story – current with the manga

Sound! Euphonium: Familiarity with the story – none

Heroic Legend of Arslan: Familiarity with the story – none, but I remember good buzz back in the 90’s

Triage X: Familiarity with the story – some manga chapters

Nisekoi 2: Familiarity with the story – current with the manga

 

Saving for binging or for swaps:

High School DxD: Familiarity with the story – mostly current with the LNs

Assassination Classroom: Familiarity with the story – watched first half of series

Ghost in the Shell Arise: Familiarity with the story – I’ve not seen any Arise, but I’m very familiar with the franchise.

 

In the maybe pile:

Re-Kan!: Familiarity with the story – none

Kyoukai no Rinne: Familiarity with the story – none

Denpa Kyoushi: Familiarity with the story – mostly current with the manga

 

Leave a Reply

