Anime Power Rankings – Week 5 Spring 2015

1. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU Too

So Hachiman figures out how to help others without sacrificing himself, but still can’t make Yukino happy. That’s because you can’t make people happy by only minimizing loss, and you can’t be made happy unless you communicate what you want clearly. The skillset is certainly there, and Yukino and Hachiman’s struggle to understand each other is wonderfully painful to watch.

2. Plastic Memories

Once again, Plastic Memories shows its Steins; Gate pedigree, quickly shifting from its emotional manipulation last episode to some drama and suspense. All the while, they have been giving us nice little doses of back-story. I’ve seen criticism that the show doesn’t do humor that well, and that’s true. It is also not particularly surprising, considering humor was not Steins; Gate’s strong suit either. For me, the awkward humor has done little to diminish the show’s overall appeal.

 

3. Sound! Euphonium

Sound! continues to gain momentum and is a good vehicle for Kyoni’s artistic style. It seems there is at least one show every season that takes a few episodes to get going, and this is the case here. I like the characters, and they help make up for the sports anime aspect of the show (Sports is my least favorite Anime/Manga genre). There are a lot of subtle little dramatic seeds being sown here, and I am looking forward to seeing them grow.

 

4. Yamada and the Seven Witches

Unfortunately, the manga suffered whenever the focus shifted too far from Urara Shiraishi. She is probably the most interesting character, and we are entering a stretch where she shifts more into the background. The show is still good, it’s just falling behind the excellent efforts by Plastic Memories and Sound! Euphonium. I’m also, worried/curious as to how they are going to wrap all of this into one season or if they are going to cut off mid arc.

5. Nisekoi 2

Raku’s showcase arc was good, but less dramatic than I expected. Unfortunately, my familiarity with the manga tells me that this was probably the best arc of this season. If Nisekoi couldn’t wow me here, I doubt it will manage to climb into the upper half of these rankings. Still, judging by the opening, the best Onodera ( sorry Kosaki) is going to get some screen time soon and that should be entertaining.

 

6. Is it Wrong to Pick Up girls in a Dungeon?

There is a lot going on in the show right now. Hopefully everything will come together and make a coherent whole. It’s hard to see it at the moment. Some focus would be good here. Other than that, the show remains watchable, but not anything special.

 

 7. Fate/Stay: UBW

So finally, we have some resolution to the conflicts left hanging at the end of last season. I don’t think it is a coincidence that this was the best episode of Fate/Stay I watched this season. A solid second half could still elevate the show, but it’s going to take more than one good episode to undo the damage the poor pacing has done to my interest.

 

 8. Triage X

I don’t like the anime’s hyper focus on the heroines. I haven’t read much of the manga, but I have read enough to know that they are neglecting Arashi. Since he is the only Black Label member I find interesting, that is disappointing.   The nostalgia is starting to wear off, and I might drop Triage X mid-season if it doesn’t improve. I am not entertained.

Leave a Reply

