An Open Letter to Funimation

IMG_0831

Dear Funimation,

Please fix and expand your delivery systems for your streaming service. Your iOS app sucks. It doesn’t pick up where I left off, it can’t handle anything other than an optimal Wi-Fi stream, it doesn’t give me any indication of which episode I am on, and when I mirror (which I have to do, I’ll get to that in a second) it cuts out at least once at the beginning of every episode I watch. Crunchyroll has been doing this better than you have for a long time, and if you are going to get serious about streaming, you need to address this. Your app won’t even open on my iPad one. I have to cram anime into the nooks and crannies of my life, and having apps with so many issues makes that impossible for your shows.  Also, you need to get your Apple TV app out. I want to watch your titles on my TV without going through my phone. Over the last few seasons, I have avoided titles that you guys have picked up because of these issues. When and if I do get around to watching one of your shows, I end up wanting to punch one of you for forcing me to put up with this nonsense.

So please, you’ve been much more assertive in picking up shows I want to watch, so just get your shit together so I can watch them. I took a leap of faith and became a subscriber, so it’s time for you to do your part.

Thank you for your time,

WSM

Leave a Reply

