My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU Too – Episode 12

This was not what I was expecting since we burnt through a bunch of material so that this could get animated. This was RomCom 101 stuff. I considered watching the episode again and taking notes so I would have enough to say here, but I decided to roll with it.

General thoughts:

So it’s Valentines Day! Cue some domestic chocolate stuff and some flirting. This episode wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t up to the standard the show has set this season.  This felt more like an indulgent OVA.

Yui is obviously aware that Yukino is crushing on Hachiman and seems to be pulling back for her friends sake. I’m not sure Yui thinks she is good enough for Hachiman.  I still think that any of the 3 girls would be good for Hachiman.

Yukino is so off balance right now I’m surprised she can stand up for more than 5 seconds at a time. It would be cute to watch if her mom and sister weren’t messing with her.  She’s turning into a beautiful disaster.

Congrats on being a harem protag Hachiman, too bad this isn’t the kind of fan service laden show where you actually maintain a harem. These girls are going to tear your heart out before this is over.

It was interesting that this was the first show that I hadn’t read the source material for and I didn’t like it as much as the other episodes. It makes me wonder how much my reading has colored my earlier perceptions.

I’ve given Haruna the benefit of the doubt to this point, but now she is starting to seem vindictive. I understand that not all siblings get along, but you should not enjoy being cruel to your sister like that.

I’m getting a White Album 2 feel from things here. I’m starting to doubt that there will be a happy ending. Haruna and her mom have a final boss feel to them and I don’t see how Hachiman can help Yukino at the moment.

Leave a Reply

