Update!

So, I at one point was going to split this into multiple blogs.  However, it turns out I can’t even keep up with one.  Here is what is going on.

Anime:

Not much I’m afraid.  I finished season one of Gate, but I can’t really bring myself to comment on it.  I thought the series fell flat in the second half of the season.  I’ m not watching much right now.  Funimation’s interface has really put the damper on watching their titles, and unfortunately, they have been getting most of what I want to watch.  There are a lot of shows in the works that I am excited for, but nothing this season is really catching my interest.  The game from which the picture I posted above is obviously anime inspired.  Ghost in the Shell and Bubblegum Crisis are obvious refrences.  Even if you don’t play the tabletop  games, it’s worth checking out the website just to see the awesome designs they have done.  If you are curious abut the game itself, here is a review.

Gaming:

So here is where the big shift has happened.  I am, for the moment, done with 40k.  My Dark Angels and Imperial Guard have shifted to back of my playing and painting queues.  Taking their place are my unpainted Malifaux models and the Infinity models I have put on my Christmas list.  I have also dug my Battletech miniatures out as the wildly successful Kickstarter has rekindled my interest in the game.  40k’s demise in my gaming world has been a long time coming.  The player base is toxic, the game is ridiculously expensive, Games Workshop doesn’t care about the rules, and its large armies and alternating turns are cumbersome.  Now that I know there are other games being played in my area, I have shifted my time and money to those games.

The Hobby:

I will miss the customization options that 40k provided, but I have decided to fill that gap by polishing my painting skills.  I have a lot of quality models that I cannot currently do justice to.  That brings us mostly up to date.  I’m going to try to post more often, even when I an not watching simulcasts.

Thanks for reading,

WSM

3 thoughts on “Update!

  1. Takuto's Anime Cafe November 4, 2015 / 3:16 pm

    I kinda feel you on that front. I don’t know a whole lot about the 40k industry, but I do know I still have many a Tau Pathfinders to paint up.

    • wellspokenman November 4, 2015 / 7:09 pm

      The size of the armies that people play locally was an issue too. I can see 10 models as a reasonable goal. Looking at 50 guys that need assembled primed and painted was just depressing.

      • Takuto's Anime Cafe November 4, 2015 / 7:55 pm

        True. It’s like, more than half of the fun comes from painting them and getting them all done up nice to show off in battle. Then I give you permission to stomp on me.

Leave a Reply

